Pick up the phone

My land line. Often sad and lonely

Lately, about 95% of my communications is done through email, Facebook, and Twitter. It seems I’ve forgotten one major rule about good book publicity:

PICK UP THE PHONE.

It’s amazing what a real-life, old-fashioned phone conversation can yield in terms of cementing good media relations and generating new story ideas. Connecting with your media contacts, whether it’s to update them about a new book, thank them for a book review or story, or learn more about they’re looking for in terms of story ideas can lead to some definite positive results.

Let me give you an example.

This morning, I called a Gray & Company author to discuss a story idea for his blog. We had been emailing back and forth but I needed a little more information from him so I thought I’d give him a call.

Luckily this author was available and ready to converse.

We talked awhile about his blog, then moved on to other things.

“Say,” the author mentioned. “Father’s Day is coming up. I was thinking of setting up a book signing and some radio interviews in advance of the big day. What do you think?”

“Great idea,” I replied. “What venues were you thinking? What radio contacts did you have in mind.”

We brainstormed for a few minutes (actually speaking with one another- not emailing back and forth) and came up with a dynamite sales and media plan. I’m pretty sure our phone dialogue is going to result in at least a few book sales– something that would NOT have happened had we not conversed by phone.

Of course, I’m not suggesting abandoning email communications, texting, social media direct messaging or any of the other newer forms of communications. I’m a huge advocate of these methods and recognize they can be highly effective and efficient in most instances.

All I’m sayin’ is don’t forget about that old-fashioned phone (I still have a land line with an actual cord) that probably sits on your desk unused for many hours of the day. Picked up occasionally and for the right reasons, your phone can be a valuable book PR tool.

RRRRINNG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About janelassar

I am a publicist with Gray & Company, Publishers. We publish books about Cleveland and Northeast Ohio.
This entry was posted in Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

